Friday, December 3, 2021

REVEALED:- Why Chelsea Goal Against Juventus Wasn’t Handball

ADVERTISEMENT

Chelsea’s first goal against Juventus in Tuesday’s Champions League tie at Stamford Bridge was not handball because of this season’s new handball rules.

During Chelsea’s clash with Juventus, the ball hit Antonio Rudiger on the arm as an assist for Trevor Chalobah.

Juventus midfielder Adrien Rabiot flicked the ball onto Rudiger’s arm from point-blank range.

Rudiger also had his arm across his chest, so arguably, if the ball had not struck him on the hand, it would have hit his torso anyway.

Recall that the new rule has been designed to not penalise attackers if they accidentally commit a handball in the build-up to a goal.

The rule was introduced by the International Football Association Board (IFAB) back in March.

Last season, the rules stated that any touch of the arm from an attacking player in the build-up to a goal was automatically caused to disallow it, whether it was considered to be intentional or not.

That was changed by IFAB this summer, so that is now only true if the player who scores does so with an arm.

Otherwise, intentionality is to be ascertained in the usual way.

Tobiloba Ayinde

RelatedPosts

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Create New Account!

Fill the forms below to register

*By registering into our website, you agree to the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist

0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x
Ⓒ 2021-2022 This Website Is Managed By ® Innocent Michael  Network Inc. Toronto, Canada.